Navigate the Chapters of this Book

3. The Triangles and the Centres. - Part 2

3. The cycle of initiation from the preparatory stage of accepted disciple to that of the Master and the still higher grades. These seven crises are each re-enacted during the process of self-initiation into the world of meaning and of reality. They constitute the keynote or the motif of each of the seven initiations. Each of these seven initiations permits entry into the state of divine consciousness on each of the seven planes of divine experience and expression.

The influences of these seven constellations is symbolised by three triangles and a final synthesis or focal point. Esoterically, these triangles are usually depicted as superimposed but for the sake of clarity we separate them.

[See Figure]


We have here three triangles but, at the same time, only seven influences for the effects of the conditioning forces of the two triangles predominantly active in the first two cycles are fused and blended in the third. These blended influences (with the aid of the remaining five constellations, Sagittarius, Libra, Taurus, Pisces and Aquarius) enable the disciple to escape out of the human kingdom into the kingdom of souls. We have therefore:

1. Seven constellations

Cancer, Aries, Gemini, Scorpio, Capricorn, Virgo, Leo, which bring the man from the stage of individualisation to the Path of Discipleship.

2. Eight constellations (which include three out of the seven) which bring the disciple from the stage of selfhood to that of the self-initiated and perfected soul.

It is not my intention to analyse these crises. These, the student who is in earnest and who is observant can work out for himself.

I would also point out that I have (again necessarily) only depicted the three triangles in a certain order with the lower points expressing the energy of certain constellations. In this form they depict the final outcome and the final results of a particular group of three crises. It must be remembered that only through much repetition and frequent focussed effort are these results attained. A crisis is brought about by a certain habit of mind, developed in the vehicle; it is surmounted in time only by a certain habit and rhythm of the spiritual content of the man's nature. It is the establishing of a certain objective rhythm which produces a crisis; it is the emergence of a particular subjective rhythm which enables a man to surmount the crisis and to capitalise on the opportunity. Please bear this in mind.


These seven crises can also be related to the seven centres in the vital or etheric body, and advanced students will later find that there is a close cyclic interrelation between:

1. The seven planes of divine expression.

2. The seven states of resultant consciousness.

3. The seven crises, leading to the expansion of consciousness.

4. The seven initiations, climaxing these expansions.

5. The seven centres wherein these results are realised.

Let me remind students that all the twelve constellations bring about man's evolutionary development and eventual release from the Great Wheel of living existence. Seven of these are, however, primarily useful in bringing about the seven crises of the soul whilst five of them are instrumental upon the final stages of the Way in enabling the disciple or initiate to utilise the experience gained and the values grasped in effecting entrance into the fifth kingdom in nature. You have, therefore, the 12 + 7 + 5, making 24 in all and in these are to be found the "24 episodes which mark the Cross of Life." From the standpoint of Christian symbolism (even though the interpretation is as yet inadequate) these seven crises correspond to the seven stations of the Cross which mark the way of an advancing world Saviour.

In connection with the five constellations which are peculiarly active in the life of the advanced disciple and initiate, the influences fall into two triangles of force, because Leo—focussing the energy of the seven constellations—is included, thus linking the self-conscious aspect with the spirit:


[See Figure]

Shirk not these crises, hard and difficult though they may appear to be. Difficult they are. Forget not that the habit of confronting crises is a long-established one within the consciousness of humanity. Man has the "habit of crisis," if I may so call it. They are only the points of examination as to strength, purpose, purity and motive and the intent of the soul. They evoke confidence when surmounted and produce greatly expanded vision. They foster compassion and understanding, for the pain and inner conflict they have engendered is never forgotten, for they draw upon the resources of the heart. They release the light of wisdom within the field of knowledge and the world is thereby enriched.